Band of the Day: The Holloways

NAME: The Holloways HOMETOWN: London, Holloway, United Kingdom WEBSITE: http://www.the-holloways.com/ HOW I HEARD ABOUT THEM: I was listening to my friend Imran’s awesome BBC 6 music radio show called This Music Week and The Holloways were doing a cover of “Starman” [MP3] in honor of David Bowie’s birthday. LATEST RELEASE: So This Is Great Britain? […]

Band of the Day: The Long Winters

NAME: The Long Winters HOMETOWN: Seattle, Washington, United States WEBSITE: http://www.longwinters.com/ HOW I HEARD ABOUT THEM: I was reading the Best of Seattle 2006: Critic’s Picks. They named The Long Winters the best power pop band. LATEST RELEASE: Ultimatum [EP, BUY] SONG LISTENED TO: “Blue Diamonds” [MP3] WHAT THEY SOUND LIKE: Singer John Roderick’s vocals […]

Band of the Day: The Temper Trap

NAME: The Temper Trap HOMETOWN: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia WEBSITE: http://www.myspace.com/thetempertrap HOW I HEARD ABOUT THEM: A link to North Cote Social Club from a gig review on The Age lead me to searching for The Temper Trap–who were opening for a band called “Snowman”. They were described as “closing 2006 with a bang and launching […]

Band of the Day: The Fratellis

NAME: The Fratellis HOMETOWN: Glasgow, Scotland, UK WEBSITE: http://www.thefratellis.com/ HOW I HEARD ABOUT THEM: My friend Rachel, who knows about all the cool British bands way before I do, listed she was going to two of their shows in London. LATEST RELEASE: Costello Music SONG LISTENED TO: “Creepin’ Up the Back Stairs” [MP3 via Lil […]

Band of the Day: Les Breastfeeders

NAME: Les Breastfeeders HOMETOWN: Montréal, Québec, Canada WEBSITE: http://www.lesbreastfeeders.ca/ Photo by John Londoño HOW I HEARD ABOUT THEM: I’m not exactly sure how an album worth of their stuff ended up on my iPod, but whenever they come on during “shuffle” I’m always like “what the HELL is this crazy French-singing rock music?” LATEST RELEASE: […]

Band of the Day: Paolo Nutini

NAME: Paolo Nutini HOMETOWN: Paisley, Scotland, UK WEBSITE: http://www.paolonutini.com/ HOW I HEARD ABOUT THEM: I was surfing the Observer site and stumbled upon this video feature of Paolo describing 7 “everyday objects”. I can hardly understand what he’s saying. I feel like I’m trapped in the world of Sick Boy. LATEST RELEASE: These Streets SONG […]

Band of the Day: PonPons

NAME: PonPons HOMETOWN: Berlin, Germany WEBSITE: http://www.ponpons.com/ HOW I HEARD ABOUT THEM: I was doing a Google search for “photography book karaoke”. I found a story about artist Hanayo. LATEST RELEASE: “My Name Is Tallulah” song on the Disko Cabine Compilation SONG LISTENED TO: “My Name Is Tallulah” [Listen] WHAT THEY SOUND LIKE: Remember electroclash? […]

Band of the Day: Walter Meego

NAME: Walter Meego HOMETOWN: Chicago, Illinois, USA WEBSITE: http://www.waltermeego.com HOW I HEARD ABOUT THEM: I randomly caught his set when I was at the Iceland Airwaves festival in 2006 LATEST RELEASE: Romantic [CD Single] SONG LISTENED TO: “Wanna Be a Star” [MP3] WHAT THEY SOUND LIKE: Dancy synth pop, blah blah blah. Like LCD Soundsystem […]

Band of the Day: Tiny Masters of Today

NAME: Tiny Masters of Today HOMETOWN: Brooklyn, NY, USA WEBSITE: http://tinymasters.net/ Photo: Shara Shisheboran HOW I HEARD ABOUT THEM: Apparently I’m Myspace friends with them, because I clicked on their bulletin announcing their opening slot for Clap Your Hands Say Yeah at Bowery Ballroom. LATEST RELEASE: GRRR10 [UK EP] SONG LISTENED TO: “Stickin’ It to […]